Item 266826. CONGREGATION SHAARAY TEFILA. CEREMONY OF LAYING THE CORNER STONE

CONGREGATION SHAARAY TEFILA. CEREMONY OF LAYING THE CORNER STONE

No Place [New York]: No Publisher [The Congregation], 1893. Item #42726

1st edition. Original pictorial wrappers, 8 pages.
Originally unknown to Singmerman, he lists it (unnumbered) in his “Addenda” from 2019, citing its mention in a "Check List of Works Relating to the Churches and Ecclesiastical History of the City of New York in the New York Public Library," (Bulletin of the New York Public Library, vol. 5 (1901), p. 200). There is no indication that NYPL ever owned a copy; they do not now and Singerman and OCLC-Worldcat together locate no actual copy anywhere. This may be a unique surviving copy.
The order of ceremonies include choral performances of Mah Tovu, English hymns, and prayers and addresses by New York area rabbis and dignitaries. A history of the congregation from its inception is included, as is a list of officers and other leaders, a total of 37 Ashkenazi and Sephardic names, including its Rabbi, Rev. de Sola Mendes.
Congregation Shaaray Tefila (“Gates of Prayer”) was founded in 1845. Over a period of many decades, shifts in the traditional service were introduced, and by 1921 it had fully journeyed away from Orthodoxy and joined the American Reform movement. Since 1958 the congregation has occupied a former theater, located at East 79th Street at the corner of 2nd Avenue. Very Good Condition (amr-67-58).

Price: $950.00